Obama Names Travel Industry Leaders to New Export Council

Acknowledging the role travel plays in increasing U.S. exports, President Barack Obama has named two travel industry leaders to the President's Export Council, he announced last week.

Established as part of the National Export Initiative — announced during this year's State of the Union Address, during which the president set a goal of doubling U.S. exports over the next five years as a way to stimulate the economy and create new jobs — the newly created council has 18 members, including Walt Disney Company President and CEO Robert A. Iger and United Airlines Chairman, President and CEO Glenn Tilton, both of whom serve on the U.S. Travel Association's board of directors.

"President Obama's decision to name two members of our board of directors to serve on the Export Council is recognition of travel's power to help strengthen our economy," said U.S. Travel Association President and CEO Roger Dow. "As heads of United Airlines and Disney, respectively, Glenn Tilton and Bob Iger are valuable voices for the enormous potential of international visitors to stimulate economic growth. The spending generated by international visitation to the U.S. is our country's largest service export and helps to sustain and create more than 10 million American jobs."

Said Obama, "Boosting America's exports strengthens our economic growth and supports millions of good, high-paying American jobs. That's why I set a goal during my State of the Union address to double our exports over the next five years. Since then, my administration has worked to improve advocacy for our exporters, remove trade barriers and enforce trade rules in an effort to ensure that the benefits of global trade are broadly shared. And to build on the progress we've made so far, I've appointed these accomplished men and women to serve in these important roles. I am confident that their depth of experience in the private sector will be valuable as we continue working to open new markets for American goods, boost our exports and level the playing field for American workers."

Joining Tilton and Iger on the President's Export Council are:

• Mary Vermeer Andringa, President and CEO, Vermeer Corporation
• Stephanie A. Burns, President and CEO, Dow Coming Corporation
• Scott Davis, Chairman and CEO, UPS
• Richard L. Friedman, President and CEO, Carpenter & Company Inc.
• Gene Hale, President and Founder, G&C Equipment Corporation
• C. Robert Henrikson, Chiarman, President and CEO, MetLife Inc.
• William Hite, General President, United Association
• Charles Kayte, Co-President, Warburg Pincus
• Jeffrey Kindler, CEO, Pfizer
• Andrew Liveris, President, Chairman and CEO, The Dow Chemical Company
• Robert A. Mandell, Chairman and CEO, Greater Properties
• Alan Mulally, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company
• Raul Pedraza, Founder and President, Magno International
• Ivan Seidenberg, Chairman and CEO, Verizon
• James S. Turley, Chairman and CEO, Ernst & Young
• Patricia Woertz, Chairman, President and CEO, Archer Daniels Midland Company