IAEE Names 2011 Board

The International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE) has elected its 2011 board of directors, it announced yesterday.

Serving as 2011 board chairmain is Vinnie Polito, who is president of VP International, a management firm focused on "elevating emerging events to the next level, launching new events and the turnaround of 'challenged' events."

"I'm excited for my term as chairman of IAEE," Polito said in a statement. "This is a progressive and important time for the trade show and events industry. In 2010, we have rebounded strongly from the economic slowdown of 2009, and I look forward to continued and sustainable growth in 2011."

Other members of the 2011 IAEE board of directors are:

Chair-Elect Doreen Biela; Secretary/Treasurer Robert Kolinek, president and CEO of Helen Brett Enterprises Inc.; Immediate Past Chair Chris Meyer, vice president of sales for the Las Vegas Convention & Visitors Authority; Thomas Cindric, Jr., group director for Hanley Wood Exhibitions; Jonathan "Skip" Cox, president of Exhibit Surveys Inc.; John Galante, president of AE Ventures; Jennifer Hoff, president of Events for National Trade Productions, Inc.; Jo-Anne Kelleway, CEO of Info Salons International Pty Ltd; Jim Kelley, director of Global Accounts, PRG - Production Resource Group LLC; Tony Lee, vice president of meetings and expositions for the Craft & Hobby Association; Jason McGraw, senior vice president of expositions for INFOCOMM International; Joe Popolo, CEO of Freeman; Gary Sain, president and CEO for the Orlando/Orange County Convention & Visitors Bureau; Julia Smith, vice president of national sales for Global Experience Specialists (GES); Ryan Strowger, director of Business Development for the Consumer Electronics Association/CES; Megan Tanel, vice president of Exhibitions for the Association of Equipment Manufacturers; Nancy Walsh, executive vice president for Reed Exhibitions; and David Weil, senior director at SmithBucklin Corporation.

The IAEE Board also includes ex-officio members Carrie Freeman Parsons, vice chair of Freeman, representing the Center for Exhibition Industry Research (CEIR); John Patronski, executive vice president of Global Experience Specialists (GES), representing the Exhibition Industry Foundation (EIF); Edward Liu, managing director for CEMS and chairman of the IAEE Asia Exhibition Council; Paul Schweitzer, vice president of Business Development for Marketplace Events, representing the IAEE Public Events Council; Manolita Moore, annual conference director for the Western Veterinary Conference, representing the IAEE Robert L. Krakoff Future Leaders Institute; Bliss Beasley, executive vice president of American Exhibition Services LLC, representing the IAEE Services Council; Kimberley Gishler, executive director for the Computer Event Marketing Association, representing the International Center for Exhibitor and Event Marketing; and Steven Hacker, president of IAEE.

Members of IAEE's board are elected on an annual basis by the official voting member of each IAEE member company. All officers serve a one-year term, except the secretary/treasurer who holds office for two years.

For more information, visit www.iaee.com.