IACC-Americas Announces Scholarship, Award Winners

The American chapter of the International Association of Conference Centres (IACC-Americas) has presented two awards honoring significant contributions to IACC education, as well as three industry scholarships to students in hospitality programs, it announced this week. Award and scholarship recipients are:

IACC Pyramid Award: Established in 2000, the Pyramid Award is given to IACC members who show a “true and long-lasting commitment” to IACC education. The 2014 Pyramid Award was presented to Louise Silbermann, managing director of the Summit Conference Center in Chicago. Silbermann has served on the IACC-Americas Annual Conference Planning Committee (ACPC) and leads eight IACC International Study Tours, conferences and educational programs.

IACC Award of Excellence: Established 12 years ago to underscore IACC’s commitment to education, the Award of Excellence gives “heightened recognition and visibility” to individuals who “generously give of their time, talent and resources to expand and enhance IACC's educational offerings.” The 2014 Award of Excellence was presented to Rita McClure, vice president of administration at Benchmark Hospitality International for her involvement in IACC education at multiple levels. She served on the IACC-Americas board of directors for two terms, was chair of the Communications Assessment Committee and staged the first IACC Copper Skillet Competition in 2005.

IACC Industry Scholarship: The IACC-New York University Doris Sklar Scholarship was established 14 years ago in memory of longtime meeting professional Doris Sklar, who taught the meeting planning curriculum at NYU’s Preston Robert Tisch Center for Hospitality, Tourism and Sports Management. The winner of the Doris Sklar Scholarship receives a grant in the amount of $5,000, plus registration fees and all expenses for the IACC-Americas Annual Conference. This year’s recipient is Chloe Hsia, a senior in the Hotel and Tourism Management undergraduate program at the NYU Tisch Center and an intern at The Four Seasons Hotel New York.

IACC Future Leaders Award: To facilitate networking with industry professionals, the winner of the Future Leaders Award receives complimentary IACC-Americas Annual Conference registration, plus transportation to and from the conference and full accommodations on site. The recipient of the 2014 Future Leaders Award is Kara Edwards, who is working on her undergraduate degree in Hospitality Administration at Missouri State University.

IACC Conference Centre Industry Award: The IACC Conference Centre Industry Award includes a $5,000 grant designed to help offset the growing costs of education for an undergraduate or graduate student who’s studying hospitality management. It also includes complimentary registration and accommodations at the IACC-Americas Annual Conference. The winner of this year's Conference Centre Industry Award is Marta Giannetti, who is now working on her undergraduate degree at the Isenberg School of Management, taking a double major in Hospitality & Tourism Management and Communication.

For a recap of last week's top stories, check out MeetingNews Minute:

> Watch More Videos