DMAI to Induct Four Industry Leaders Into Hall of Fame

Four industry leaders will be added to Destination Marketing Association International's 2016 Hall of Fame, which honors "individuals who have changed the future of destination marketing for the better, made significant contributions to the advancement of the industry and shaped travel marketing." The honorees, who will be inducted on Aug. 2 during the DMAI Annual Convention in Minneapolis, are: Ray Bloom, chairman and founder of the IMEX Group; the late Brad Burlingame, who served as president and CEO of the Visit West Hollywood (Calif.) Tourism Bureau; Nicki Grossman, who retired in June as president of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention & Visitors Bureau; and the late Gary Sain, who served as president and CEO of Visit Orlando. 

"I am so pleased with the roster for this year's Hall of Fame awards," said Bob Lander, chair of the DMAI board, who himself just retired from the Austin (Texas) Convention and Visitors Bureau. "When we initiated the program in 2014, it was our hope that the industry would get behind it and actively nominate those they truly believe have made a difference in our industry. The response has been incredible, and I look forward to celebrating the 2016 Hall of Fame winners."

 "The 2016 Hall of Fame inductees represent the very best in thought leadership and investing in our future," said Don Welsh, the association's president and CEO. "I would like to thank the Hall of Fame nominating committee led by Scott Beck [president and CEO of Visit Salt Lake] for their continued commitment to this important program. This year's inductees are visionaries who have established a path for the future of our industry. I look forward to celebrating these true leaders even beyond the DMAI Annual Convention."