Convention Industry Council Names 2011 Hall of Leaders Inductees

Next year, the Alexandria, Va.-based Convention Industry Council (CIC) will induct four meetings, conventions, exhibition and travel industry pioneers into its prestigious Hall of Leaders, it announced this week. Selected from a large group of nominees, the leaders will be officially inducted into the Hall of Leaders — which currently has 102 members — at the 2011 Hall of Leaders Gala, held June 21, 2011, in conjunction with the first annual AIBTM trade show in Baltimore.

"We are pleased to announce the winners of this prestigious award," CIC CEO Karen Kotowski said in a statement. "There is tremendous talent in our industry, and the 2011 class clearly meets the criteria for this award, and all have show leadership and contributions spanning many facets of the industry as well as contributing to society as a whole."

In order to be considered for Hall of Leaders induction, CIC says nominees must have "substantially contributed to the industry" and demonstrated "proven versatility through a range of actions that have impacted and re-defined meetings, conventions, exhibitions and /or travel."

Chosen by a CIC selection committee, and approved by the CIC Board of Directors, next year's Hall of Leaders inductees are:

• Sandy Angus, Chairman, Montgomery Worldwide
• Fay Beauchine, President, Engagement & Events, Carlson Marketing
• Christian Mutschlechner, Director, Vienna Convention Bureau
• Cliff Wallace, Managing Director, Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre

Established in 1985, the Hall of Leaders honors inductees at the Hall of Leaders Recognition Pavilion in Washington, D.C.'s Washington Convention Center and on the walls of Chicago's McCormick Place.